Barriga llena, corazón contento.

I’m pleased when I find a Spanish restaurant that truly captures the essence of Spanish food culture. It makes me feel right at home. I liked Subsolo from the moment I set foot on the gloomy staircase leading into this basement on King street. You could just feel the vibrant energy and warmth in the atmosphere, that drew this crowd underground.

The menu at Subsolo is very contemporary. The vegetarian submenu was mouth watering, with dishes such as roasted vegetables with haloumi, tofu and chickpea puree. It was convincing enough to turn my dinner dates vegetarian for the night. I love when that happens!

There was the one exception…

Mmmm…

My one disappointment at Subsolo was that they didn’t serve sangria in jugs. There’s just something wrong about ordering sangria by the glass, don’t you think?

Subsolo on Urbanspoon

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Barriga llena, corazón contento.

  1. Love Spanish food! And love your photos!

  2. These pictures are great! Especially that sangria ;)

  3. kenrinaete says:

    love the photos….yummmm!!!

Leave a Reply

